Working ‘IN’ your business vs working ‘ON’ your business

A few years ago, if you had told me I would be working for myself, from home, I would have laughed at you.  I’m not a risk taker: especially when it comes to anything related to money and the ability to pay my mortgage.  However, it’s by far the best thing I’ve done in my working life.

One area of being self-employed that I really struggle with is getting the balance right between working ‘in’ my business versus working ‘on’ my business.  I find it hard to make time to update my own website, concentrate on social media and marketing as well as the mundane jobs like book work.  The irony that I teach my clients the importance of all of these things (except book work) is not lost on me.

So this month, I’ve signed up for the Aussie Mumpreneurs 6 week Challenge to try and re-focus my energy on my own business.  We’re halfway through the course, and I’ve learnt so much already.  Each week there is a new expert teaching us some tricks of their trade.   I feel motivated and have a renewed energy, but admittedly I’m still struggling with making time to do the tasks I’ve set myself.  Baby steps.

I’m going to share some of the things I’ve learnt over the next few weeks.  Sharing our knowledge, and helping other businesswomen is what this site is all about. There’s so much competition out there, but if we can network and band together, all of our businesses can thrive.  There’s a ridiculously high rate of small businesses that close within the first five years, and I firmly believe that having a support network would help more women to keep going through the tough times.

I was lucky enough to be part of a fantastic webinar last Wednesday night as part of the course, headed up by Nick Bowditch of Clooee.  It was all about Social Media, focusing on things that we can do in our business regardless of size.  In fact, it wasn’t just for those who are self-employed.  Almost every business needs to be online, or at least thinking about social media and monitoring their competitors.  This seminar highlighted simple ways to do that.

So this week, I’ll tell you a bit about that webinar and you can share some of your thoughts and experience with others in the comments section.  I love to hear from you.

Now I’m off to tackle some of my dreaded book work. Wish me luck!

 

Image Credit


.
Comments

  1. Wow Kim, sound like you have been super busy! Thanks for sharing so far what you’ve learned – look forward to hearing more!

  2. Great post! Working IN v ON is a great way to look at the different focusses required to run abiz

I love to hear what you have to say!

