Letting go

This morning I was woken by two eager little eyes, peering at me through the pre-dawn darkness with excitement and a little bit of trepidation.  Miss8 is off on her first school camp today.

We spent the weekend getting her bags packed and labelling everything that could possibly be labelled.  I also added a little packet of snakes to her bag for those fun, school camp midnight feasts that always end up in a fit of giggles.

She’s ready.  There’s no doubt about it.  Me, not so much.

It’s time to let go.  It’s time I let go.

As a parent, the best thing you can do for your child is let them go; just a little.  Until a time when they’re spreading their wings and soaring on their own.  This is the first step.

I know as she grows up, I need to have confidence in our ability to parent her to that point when she is able to make the right decisions on her own.  We need to think that all the steps we’ve taken along this journey of life have settled themselves somewhere at the back of her brain and when she needs to draw on them, our voices will be there in the deep recesses of her mind guiding her just a little.

I dropped her off at the bus less than an hour ago.  I miss her already.  But I know she’s going to have the time of her life and this is just the first step in letting go.  Tell me it gets easier…

 

I love to hear what you have to say!

