Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead!

It seems everyone is on a get fit campaign at the moment.  A lot of women in my network are doing the Michelle Bridges 12WBT, the Lose Baby Weight 28 day challenge or even going to compounds in India to spend days meditating and cleansing their body and soul!

I’ve always struggled with my weight.  Always.  When I met my husband 10 years ago, I was a size 10 thanks to the aid of ‘fabulous’ diet pills.  It turns out that although they helped me lose weight, they’re actually not so fabulous.

About a month ago I was tossing and turning trying to find the Sandman, when I hopped out of bed and lay on the couch to watch some late night tv.  I stumbled across a documentary called ‘Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead’ by an Aussie entrepreneur called Joe Cross.  It was a lightbulb moment.

He juiced his way across America, drinking nothing but fresh fruit and veggie juices for 60 days.  After dropping about 40kgs, he’s continued to maintain his weight and also inspire others.

The truth about weight-loss is that there is no single fix for everyone.  You have to find what suits you, your lifestyle, your budget and most importantly your mindset.

I’ve been juicing for a few weeks now and feel amazing!  I’ve lost some weight and my energy levels have skyrocketed.  Admittedly I’m not following the Joe Cross method down to a tee, but I’ve adapted it to my life.  I drink a juice for breakfast and lunch (Celery, Kale, Apple, Cucumber and ginger) and have a tuna salad for dinner.  I also don’t beat myself up when I fall off the wagon.  I’m going on a winery tour with some girlfriends this weekend and I’m certainly not taking any pre-prepared juice!  I’ll jump straight back on the wagon on Sunday.

Here is a short video of ‘Fat Sick and Nearly Dead’.  Check it out, it may just be the thing that helps you.

What have you found that works for you?  Share it here so that perhaps someone else can benefit

.

Comments

  1. Stacey Shennan says:

    Great story Kim,
    I also have read a wonderful book called “women food and god”
    It is very similar to the mind and body teachings of my yoga teacher.
    A great read about listening to your body and mind,
    and not giving your self a hard time , it is not religious as such ,
    Just being sensible and true to your self……
    Love Stacey xxxx

    • It’s interesting Stace how important it is to listen to OUR body and mind. The person next to me may be doing a completely different type of ‘diet’ but it works for them. It suits their body and their mind. I’d love to have a read of that book, and one day I’ll get to yoga. One day… 🙂

  2. good on you, good luck with that, it seems you’ve found a good balance. life is to be enjoyed and if you can do that too, you’ve already won.

I love to hear what you have to say!

