Before I had children…

Before I had children, I had such a rigid idea about how things would be.  I ‘knew’ how I would behave, and how my children would behave (HAH!).  I was very black and white – there was no room for grey.  Oh how things have changed!

Before I had children I thought my children would adapt to my lifestyle and we would dictate their routine.
Now I know that I would give my right eyeball for a full night sleep and routine can go out the window in a second when there is a fever involved.

Before I had children I thought pulling an all nighter involved either text books or a game of centurions.
Now I know it relates to sick children and teething.  It’s also not as much fun as centurions although there may be the same amount of vomit.

Before I had children I thought cold coffee was sacrilege.
Now I know that coffee can be consumed within 18 hours of being made.  24 at a pinch.

Before I had children I thought that going to the toilet by myself was a given.
Now I know that going to the toilet by myself is a present from the Gods.

Before I had children I thought that guilt was to do with forgetting to call your best friend on their birthday.
Now I really know what guilt is.  I’m pretty sure my Dr injected me with a dose when he was testing my HCG levels,

Before I had children I thought I was born to be a mother.
Now I know that it’s something I’m going to have to work very hard at for the rest of my life.

Before I had children I thought I knew what love was.
Now I realise I had no idea about my ability to love someone unconditionally who vomits and poos on you.

I’ve learnt so much about myself in the last 8 years of being a parent.  More than anything I’ve learnt that I had NO IDEA about who I would be as a parent.  I’m learning to like this person though…slowly.

 

What were some of the things that you thought you would do as a parent?

.

Comments

  1. Amen to all of that! Its so true, I always thought I’d be a natural mother but it definitely takes work – CONSTANT work – to be all you can be to those little people.

    But God yes, going to the toilet in peace, how I wish I’d appreciated that in the before…

I love to hear what you have to say!

