Songs for every occasion – even my funeral!

I’ve spoken before about how music is my drug.  It lifts me to the highest of highs and the tinkling of a piano can also sink me to the lowest depths of despair.  Songs have the ability to be an aphrodisiac and also put me to sleep!  So the fact that I’ve already thought about which song I’d like at my funeral doesn’t seem in the slightest morbid to me.  It’s simply a part of life.

Since seeing Love Actually and watching the Bay City Rollers blare through the church speakers singing “Bye Bye Baby” I’ve thought that there’s one song that I would love to play at my own funeral.

The only problem I have is that I’m not 100% confident about the background of the lyrics and I want to make sure my perception of the meaning behind the song is not vastly different to the general public.  My sister attended the funeral of a friend who died in tragic circumstances leaving behind a young wife and child.  In her grief, the wife chose “Better Man” by Pearl Jam to serenade her late husband.  No one told her what it actually meant, and I pray to any God who will listen that she never finds out the real meaning behind the words. It would crush her.

The song I would love played at my funeral is “Thank you” by The Whitlams.  I LOVE that song!  I want to be able to give thanks to the fabulous people who have made their mark on my soul and enriched my life.  As long as that’s what it means!

My favourite line is:

“Thank you, each and every one of you, for loving me at my worst!”

 

What do you think?  Are you with me?  It is an upbeat song celebrating true love amongst friends…please let it be so.

I’m linking up with Eden again this week.  Head on over and see what other people have chosen as their last song.

Edenland's Fresh Horses Brigade

Comments

  1. I love it! Brilliant choice.

  2. Not sure if I love the song, but I DO love the sentiment!! where would we be if not for those who love us at our worst!

  3. I love the Whitlams and think this is a great choice!

  4. A lovely personal message to send to your loved one. 😀

  5. I love that scene from Love Actually. And have been a Whitlams fan for years.

    I worry about the meaning of songs I would like for my funeral, but think if they mean something to me, remind people of me, then it’s OK.

  6. I love most of the music in Love Actually, and nothing wrong with an upbeat song. We had Bocelli’s Time to Say Goodbye for my FIL and it was almost too overwhelming.

  7. Yes, you have to be sure about the lyrics! Some lovely songs appear to be something that they’re not…. (like Good Riddance by Green Day as another example).

  8. OH! i love it! what an awesome choice / reason!

  9. This used to be my choice, too! I still absolutely love it for a funeral and in general. It really resonates with me.

I love to hear what you have to say!

