Music is my drug

From an early age, I realised that music was my drug of choice.  It could raise me out of a funk better than any illicit substance, and it could also transport me to a deep, dark place.  I use it to my advantage and when I’m feeling particularly mojo-less, I’ll whack on a bit of Black Eyed Peas as loud as is possible without bursting the eardrums of my little people.  I’m not sure what it is about songs: the beat, the words, the memories they bring to the fore…there’s something about music that can swing my emotional pendulum from withdrawn to elation in an instant.

This morning I was watching Sunrise and they announced that Coldplay will be performing on their show this month.  A snippet of this song was played and it transported me back to 2003.  My eyes immediately filled with tears, before my brain could compute why such a strong emotion was taking hold.  A few seconds later and my head caught up to my heart, remembering a small online mother’s group I was a member of whilst pregnant with Stinky.  We would share our updates along the journey of our pregnancies as we were all due at the same time.  One day, at around the 24 week mark, one member sadly announced her beloved baby girl had been born too soon and passed away.  Maybe it was the heightened pregnancy hormones, or the loss of such an innocent life, but after hearing that the song ‘The Scientist’ by Coldplay was played at her funeral I’ve never been able to hear it without welling up.

 

 

Conversely, on a day when my mojo seems to be lost at the bottom of my makeup drawer, I can turn on this Black Eyed Peas song and dance around the kitchen with wild abandonment and the funk seems to fall out the end of my spirit fingers!  It works just as well in the car, although I can’t have it quite as loud as I’m usually transporting little people and their ears are somewhat sensitive to ridiculously loud music.  So, to pep you up on this humpday, here is a song to make you dance like no-one is watching…

 

 

 

Are there any songs that make you cry or smile?

Comments

  1. I totally agree; music is so amazing because whatever mood you’re in, there is something that will fit it. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

Trackbacks

  1. […] spoken before about how music is my drug.  It lifts me to the highest of highs and the tinkling of a piano can […]

I love to hear what you have to say!

