When inspiration strikes

I’m one of those people who likes to carry a notepad around wherever I am.  I have one in my handbag, on my bedside table, on my desk – anywhere, really. There’s no telling when a creative idea will strike – the perfect pitch for a client, a design for a website I’m building, an article for Working Women Australia.

It’s not uncommon for me to be lying in bed, on the verge of sleep when that wonderful burst of inspiration strikes. If you’re anything like me though; if you tell yourself you’ll get on to that tomorrow, you’ll forget.  So I make sure that no matter where I am there’s a notepad and pen handy, so I can write down at least the basics.  The barest prompt is usually enough for me to work on during more civilised hours.

Yesterday I reached for it when I had a great idea for an article, and look what I found:

It seems my senior “Personal Assistant” AKA – Miss7 had drawn me this cute little snowman. It made me smile right away, and reminded me that sometimes it’s good to step back and have a little fun, put work aside and just be. Spend time with the children. Take time out to be with my husband. Set aside an afternoon to take care of my own needs.

It’s so easy to become all consumed by work – and even worse for those of us balancing our businesses with our families.  That infamous ‘mother-guilt’ kicks in and we feel as though we need to stay on top of everything.  All. The. Time. Staying on top of the business; sending and replying to emails;  helping children with their homework, attacking the housework, keeping up with friends, taking time out for family….so many balls to juggle.

Just remember:  as wonderful as it is to run our own businesses and work at something we love, nothing is as important as a balanced life. The sooner we appreciate that fact, and follow the principle that time out (especially to simply enjoy our family) is a healthy thing, the more successful we will be. We owe it to ourselves to take the time to nourish our relationships with our family, friends and to nurture ourselves as well.

So keep the notebook handy. Scribble down your notes when inspiration strikes. Then, if you’re in dedicated ‘children’, ‘husband’ or ‘me’ time, put the notepad down and come back to it when it’s ‘work’ time.

Thank goodness for my “Senior Personal Assistant”. She reminded me to step back, have a laugh and remember what’s really important.

Comments

  1. Oh I love this …. honestly, I have been thinking of this a lot over the past few days.

    Cool snowman. Literally – heh.

    X

I love to hear what you have to say!

